Share this Page

TDMH Foundation
Click here to Donate Now

New Leadership Structure for Local Hospitals

Posted on: May 09, 2018
Filed under: Press Release

The Chairs of the Boards of Alexandra Hospital Ingersoll and Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital have approved plans for a new leadership structure for the two organizations. A new Executive Leadership Team has been structured to ensure a relentless focus on quality of care and to create an environment where team members are supported to perform at their best.

"We are committed to providing the highest quality, safest healthcare possible to the members of our community, within our community," said Mel Getty, Chair, Tillsonburg District Memorial Hospital Board of Directors. "That commitment must start with the Board of Directors and cascade directly to our front line team members and those who support patient care."

“The new structure has been specifically designed to ensure our hospitals can respond to the rapidly changing healthcare environment and position them to continue to serve our communities for many years to come,” said Sandy Jansen, President and CEO.

The reorganization, achieved with no cost increase, streamlines the organization structure, allowing for more nimble decision-making. The role of Chief Financial Officer has been eliminated and replaced with a Chief Operating Officer (COO) position. The COO must integrate the increasingly complex and conflicting demands of healthcare today, such as standards for safety, streamlined services, fiscal responsibility and the development of new models of care.

“Today’s healthcare environment requires that we re-imagine the way care is delivered,” Jansen said.

The new Executive Leadership Team includes:
Cheryl Pfaff, Chief Quality and Safety Officer and Vice President of Human Resources. Cheryl was previously the Senior Director, Quality, Risk and Human Resources at AHI and TDMH and was instrumental in leading TDMH to achieve the highest level of Accreditation (Exemplary Standing) in September 2017.

Julie Ellery, Chief Nursing Executive and Vice President, Clinical, will continue in her current role and will be responsible for all inpatient and outpatient clinical care, including health disciplines.

Dr. Jamie Cluett and Dr. Joel Wohlgemut will continue as Chiefs of Staff at TDMH and AHI respectively.

The restructure will result in the elimination of three roles, including the Chief Financial Officer and Senior Directors of Facilities and Clinical Support and Quality, Risk and Human Resources.

“We, as a Board of Directors, fully support the revitalized direction of the hospital,” said Ian Blain, Chair, AHI Board of Directors. “The reorganized team is tasked with a significant challenge and we believe they have the skills and drive to build strong, sustainable hospitals for today and the future.”

Media Contact

Sandy Jansen, President and CEO, AHI & TDMH
Phone Number: 519-842-3611 ext. 5301